Wow! Web pioneers. I guess that’s what all those app engineers, social media celebrities (“youtubers”) and “real celebrities” on twitter like Lady Gaga and Justin Bieber, and even those of us in ds106 are. I mean, similar to Little Big Planet like Gardner Campbell mentioned, (and I realize to many of you, this will come across as a cliché) the app stores for android, mac, and the iphone are open, evolving spaces for technology developed by anyone in the world that can functionally be used for anything from ordering a Chipotle burrito to giving anyone with an itouch T-Pain’s voice.

As far as narrating, curating, and sharing is concerned, something that I find extremely interesting is the role of UMWblogs in all of this. In my 2 ½ years at UMW so far, I’ve been required to setup and regularly use umwblogs for at least 1 class a semester. Freshman year I blogged for biology with professor Killian. Sophmore year I blogged for 2 music classes with Professor Fillerup. Finally, this year I blogged in my foreign policy class for Professor Davidson. Unfortunately, these blogging experiences are all very fragmented, either on separate accounts or deleted altogether to “make room” for the more recent classes I was taking. If I could go back, I would have liked to have been able to assemble all of my blogs and blogposts together to create a portfolio of all of my work over the years. Since these blogs range from my freshman year up until now, having a portfolio would mean I would have documentation of my academic work throughout my entire college experience, or an academic “personal cyber infrastructure” like Gardner Campbell mentions.

I’m very excited for ds106 this semester, first because this an entirely new academic experience for me. I’ve heard that blogging and weblogging is an opportunity to leave your own personal imprint on the web. But I think what Gardner Campbell is talking about, is that with all of today’s new technology like twitter, facebook, youtube, foursquare, etc. you can  (and in our case – ds106- will) go a step farther and create digital identities on the web. In other words, I think he’s saying we’re getting to the point where we can link our hourly tweets (our thoughts), videos (our self-expression), facebook profiles (our background and experiences) together (such as in the form of a blog) and literally transfer ourselves, our identities into the web. Not just an 2d avatar picture, but a more multidimensional avatar. Maybe like a digital birth – being born into the web?

